Monday, 19 August 2013

Choose The Styles of Yoga Best For You

Yoga styles have evolved to be more specific over the decades, making it difficult for newcomers to identify which suits them. Intermediate and advanced yogis would already be acquainted with the traditional yoga styles like Ashtanga,Lyengar and Shivananda. However, the newer styles like TriYoga or Viniyoga would still confuse many people as to which would serve fitness or spirituality needs. It would help to be acquainted with the various styles and discover which are physically challenging or relaxing.

Fast paced yoga is the most aerobically focused styles of yoga, and is designed to increase the heart rate of the participant to a point where they are strengthening their body's cardiovascular endurance and toning and strengthening muscle tissue in almost all of the major areas.

Kundalini Yoga

Kundalini Yoga as taught by Yogi Bhajan is also known as the Yoga of Awareness. It is a Raj Yoga and combines all the traditional eight limbs of Yoga. Its purpose is to awaken the kundalini, the energy flow in each of us. A typical class combines meditation, mantra (chanting), physical exercises and breathing positions Classes can include simple short sequences or may involve vigorous, even strenuous exercises, and strong breath techniques such as Breath of Fire, which challenge and strengthen the nervous and glandular systems and test the will of the practitioner beyond the limitations of their ego. Kundalini Yoga balances the subtle system of chakras and meridians within the body and helps clear out unwanted patterns and habits.

Hatha Yoga

While almost all styles of yoga offered here are hatha based, at Zenith our hatha classes concentrate on the learning of traditional asana (postures), breathing, mindfulness, and listening to the body. Unlike our Vinyasa based classes in which students flow through poses connected by sun salutations, in a Hatha class, emphasis is placed on longer held poses, core strength, flexibility, balance & concentration.


The Ashtanga Yoga primary series is a set sequence of yoga poses (asanas) and is a challenging, vigorous practice which focuses on the synchronization of breath with the continuous flow of movement. Participants move through a set series of asanas, transitioning from one posture to another using sun salutation to build heat, endurance, flexibility, strength and mental focus. (Levels 2 and higher)


Iyengar Yoga is characterized by great attention to detail on each pose, use of props, and focus on body alignment. It is highly verbal and precise, and your teacher will mindfully help modify each pose to help each student optimize their yoga practice. Expect a slower paced challenging class with intelligently sequenced poses, lead without music.


Meditation is the simple and direct practice of moment-to-moment mindfulness. Through careful and sustained observation, we experience the ever-changing flow of the mind/body process. With cultivated awareness we are able to accept more fully the pleasure and pain, fear and joy, sadness and happiness that inevitably occur in life. Everybody is welcome! These sessions are donation based.

No comments:

Post a Comment